Folders - Administration
From v3.0.0 Folders can be used throughout the CMS to search, organise and easily control User/User Group Share options for items held within a specific Folder.
Folders can be created to hold Library Media, DataSets, Playlists, Layouts, Campaigns, Templates, Displays and Display Groups and are accessed on Grids by clicking the Folder icon.
Right click the Root Folder to Create a new Folder:
A New Folder will be added to the Folder tree. Right click to access a menu with options to Create a sub-folder, Rename, Remove and Share:
Only empty Folders can be removed!
Each Folder can have Share options set for Users/User Groups by clicking on Share from the menu.
Share options for Folders can only be set by Super Administrators!
Select from the list of Users and User Groups (User Groups are shown in bold) and assign View, Edit and Delete options as required for the selected Folder.
Once Share options have been set for a Folder, all objects contained or moved to that Folder will inherit the View, Edit, Delete options that have been enabled for Users/User Groups.
New Users can have Folders assigned from the start by following the onboarding wizard to Add Users.
The Folder tree will open by default on a Grid and can be toggled off from view by clicking on the Folder icon:
When Folders are hidden from view, the file path for a selected folder will be shown!
With Folders open, highlight a Folder/sub-folder to search the contents and return results based on any filters that have been applied to the Grid.
Use the All Folders tick box to include searching in the Root Folder!
Items can be saved to Folders from Add/Edit forms and from the Row menu using Select Folder to open.
If you already have a Folder selected, objects added via the Add form will be automatically saved into the selected Folder!
Control access for Users/User Groups using Features and Share options:
For Users that need access to Create on the Folders menu:
- Enable Create new Folders from the Content tab of the Folders Feature set.
For Users that need access to Rename on the Folders menu:
- Enable Rename and Delete existing folders from the Content tab on the Folders Feature set.
- Enable Edit from the Share options for the Folder(s) that can be renamed by the User/User Group.
For Users that need access to Delete on the Folders menu:
- Enable Rename and Delete existing Folders from the Content tab on the Folders Feature set.
- Enable Delete from the Share options for the Folder(s) that can be removed by the User/User Group.